Aller au contenu principal

Vous êtes ici

40th Ikaros International Chess Tournament 2017

                                        40th Ikaros International Chess Tournament 2017
                                                Aegean Open Championship 2017
                                      (9-16 July 2017, Agios Kirykos, Ikaria island, GREECE)

182 chess players from 14 countries take part in the 40th edition of Ikaros International Chess Tournament. The Open Aegean Championship "Ikaros” 2017, which is the main event, is held from 9 to 16 July at the Sport Center of Aghios Kirykos at the island of Ikaria.

Almost all of the geographical areas of Greece, Cyprus and 12 foreign countries are represented: Armenia, Belgium, Bulgaria, Spain, Kazakhstan, Belarus, Ukraine, Poland, Romania, Russia, Sweden, Czech Republic.

But, apart from the entries record, Ikaros also broke a titled players record: 10 GM, 5 IM, 3 WIM and 7 FM are competeing in the tournament. The top 10 players are: Bortnyk (Ukraine, 2585), Stupak (Belarus, 2570), M. Nikolov (Bulgaria, 2561), Kharitonov (Russia, 2558), Bernadskiy (Ukraine 2543) 2536), Kotronias (2489), Todorov (Bulgaria, 2473), Kostenko (Kazakhstan, 2445), Velicka (Czech Republic, 2441).

On Saturday, July 8th, three rapid tournaments were held. The first places in the Rapid Open tournament went to Sarantos, Frendzas, X. Bardis (1st junior), Larkin, Teskos (1st Ikarian player), Kouvaras, Mouroutis, A. Chatziselefteriou, K. Mitsiou. (See results here)

The first three positions in the Veterans’ Rapid went to Karagiannis, Serdaris, Karachiarchidis (results here) and in the Ladies’ Rapid to Gourgari, Tsavari and A. Sarantou (results here).

On Sunday morning a blitz tournament was organized. The winner was Sarantos, followed by Larkin, Kouvaras, Chatzioannidi (first lady), Mouroutis, Gourgari, Haloris and others (results here).

International Chess Tournament “Ikaros” 2017 is organized by the Municipality of Ikaria and the Ikaria Chess Club under the auspices of the General Secretariat of Sports and sponsored by Hellenic Seaways.

Details about the tournament are posted daily at the official website:

Important Announcement: The buses that take the participants to the playing venue, depart from Therma 45 minutes prior each round and from Aghios Kirykos 15 minutes prior each round.

See more of Ikaria's